It’s Finished!

I am not a big knitter.  I enjoy knitting, or at least have started enjoying knitting again a year or so ago after not knitting since I was in the 6th grade.  Regardless….I decided after all the hats I knitted for DS’s school last year, and the ones I have started for this year, I saw this really lovely yarn in the store the other day, and decided I wanted something just for me.  I’ll wait while you recover. 🙂

I thought I would enjoy a shrug/shawl/wrap type of thing…just something to grab and wear to the bus stop, the mailbox, or just for around.  Something light, but warmish, and comfortable.  After looking at about a million different things, I decided on a simple basketweave pattern.  Finished it tonight, and thought I would share.  🙂  This would also make a great scarf (done more narrow of course) if you are looking for an easy relatively quick pattern.

Basketweave Wrap
Size 11 needles
1 skein Bernat worsted (I used an ombre….green tea or something.) Which is on sale at AC moore this week by the way!

Multiples of 10 +4.
*First 2 and Last 2 stitches will be knit on EVERY row

Cast on 64 stitches.
K first row.
FIRST 5 ROWS:
K5, P5, repeat across ending with P5

SECOND 5 ROWS:
P5, K5, repeat across ending with K5

Repeat first 5 and second 5 rows until it’s as long as you want.

The Finished product:

Close up of the color & texture:

2 Comments

Filed under knitting

2 responses to “It’s Finished!

  1. That’s beautiful! I prefer crocheting to knitting, it goes faster. LOL

  2. I love the basket weave… looks like you put a lot of work into it, but it’s really simple. Your wrap looks nice and warm!

Leave a Reply

