Trip to MOMA

Thought I would post a few photos from this weekends foray into NYC. For those of you in, around, near or within “gettin to” distance, MOMA is having an exhibit of Salvador Dali until October (I think) and it’s really amazing. I happened to catch (twice) the exhibit in Philly when it was here, and although the MOMA show is smaller, it’s still a wonderful time. 130 pieces of his work, including films, letters, scripts, paintings, sculpture…you get it. One of my faves in the visual works was the dream sequence from “spellbound” which not only included the film, but the actual backdrop from the film. Pretty cool. Some scenes from MOMA:

The sign welcoming you to the exhibit

You are allowed to photograph all works in the museum EXCEPT those in a temporary display. Since THIS dali was not in the show, I got it’s pic. 🙂

One of my very favorite Van Gogh pieces. Starry night is out on loan until October (of course!) so I was unable to see that one this time….but was thrilled to see “The Olive Trees”. These two go together, like yin and yang, to me.

This was something I had always wanted to see. Very cool. I appreciate Warhol and his work, but it’s really I dunno..inspiring? Mind blowing? Amazing? something to stand in front of these and look at how perfectly alike they are, yet different.

Despite the on and off rain, tooled around town to take a look at carnegie deli, Winter Garden Theater, Naked Cowboy in Times Square, and a shot, which I thought was really cool of Prada’s Window.
A few other photos up here.

All in all, a really great day. The only bummer was that B & H is closed on Saturday! ah well.

2 Comments

Filed under Photography, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Trip to MOMA

  1. I saw the exhibit while it was here in Los Angeles.
    The crowd that gathered around the Persistence of Memory painting was staring in silence for some time. I started telling my son what the painting was about and what the images mean, and when I turned and looked at the crowd, their attention was drawn to what I was saying. I seems the audience at the exhibit was hungry to understand what Dali was trying to say with his works.

  2. I never really got the whole can of soup thing, but I must admit it does make you think. :o)

Leave a Reply

