Crochet hat & Booties

I have a favorite bootie pattern on my crochet site and with 2 new babies born this week to friends, I’ve been makin booties! There’s never been a baby born in my family, or friends, that hasn’t received at least 1 pair of my boots. 🙂 I really love the pattern, it’s quick and easy and they STAY ON (I’d almost guarantee it!)

Decided to whip up a cap to go with the boots, will post in on the site, but in the interim, I’ll put it here! (Get over the bad photo.)

Quick Crochet Ribbed Baby Hat

As is usual with my patterns, the entire thing can be adjusted by changing hook size/yarn size.  I used “g” and Bernat’s Satin in Lapis.  2 pair of booties and 1 hat later, I still have more than half a skein left.  Good deal (I’ll make another hat)  Ok..here goes.  *Note:  Entire pattern is worked in BL only.

Ch 26.  SC in each stitch across, ch 1 turn( 25 sts)

1.  sl st in first 5 st (BL only!), sc in rem sts.  ch 1, turn

2.  sc in each stitch across.

Repeat, alternating rows 1 & 2 until hat is approximately 11″ long, ending at the bottom (away from sl sts).  Leaving a LONG tail,  turn piece right side to, cut yarn and using large eye needle stitch back loops together to form a tube.  When you get to the top, run needle around through edge stitches and pull to gather.  Tie off.  Voila.

No joke, I finished the hat in “Georgia Rules” + 1 twilight zone, AND switched over a load of laundry, let the dogs out, 2 beers and macaroni salad for dinner.  (I’m a multi-tasker!)  It’s cute, it’s simple, it’s easy, and it’s fast!

Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under crochet

2 responses to “Crochet hat & Booties

  1. Those are adorable! I have a new great-niece that is going to be born in 3 months so I’m going to have to get knitting and crocheting soon.

  2. Pingback: Bookmarks about Hat

Leave a Reply

