Heads or Tails – Line

This week’s theme over at Skittle’s Place is “Line”. And you can’t tell me that you’re surprised with my take on the theme!

This is a portion of my very favorite Railroad Line. Actually, it is one of my very favorite spots on the line! There is a single pull-off parking spot here…and from that vantage point, it seems as though the train is coming right at you. At night it is so beautiful, so exciting, well, lets just say no one is ever surprised to see me parked there. 🙂

As you know, I used to work for this Railroad Line. It is the New Hope & Ivyland Railroad..one of the greatest places I’ve ever worked. The New Hope Branch is part of the original Reading Railroad Line, and ran from New Hope PA to Philadelphia. It had regular stops as well as several whistle stops along the line. Here is a map showing the original line. I’ve only included the stations that are now part of New Hope Property.

Not only do they run passenger trains daily to Lahaska from New Hope, but each fall you can ride the entire length of the line. It’s a beautiful trip through Bucks county. They also service freight customers in Johnsville, Ivyland and Warminster. They operate both steam and diesel equipment throughout the year.

Steam Engine #40 – a 2-8-0 BALDWIN!

Afternoon light

2198

2198

The other diesel is 7087, which we would pass everyday on the way home from school. Every day my son would say “there she is mom 7087 7087 mom there she is 7087.” All one word. 🙂

Do you have a local tourist railroad line? Have you visited them? Lemme see your pics!

7 Comments

Filed under Heads or Tails, June Nablopomo, Railroad, Trains

7 responses to “Heads or Tails – Line

  1. Ohhhh.. I will have to send hubby here when he gets home from work!!! He loves trains, too. 🙂

  2. We have a rail line not too far – Galveston. I remember riding trains to visit family when I was little. I love love love your photos!

  3. I never even thought of that! You smart girl!

  4. A neat take on the meme. The pics are neat. I love trains too. BTW the diesel is an EMD GP30 model. Great post.

  5. Choo-choo-rriffic!

    MANATEE OF VANITY, at Nickers and Ink

    Blessings,
    Linda

    PS: Don’t forget to play at SIMPLY SNICKERS this week . . . posting new poetry prompts every Sunday.

  6. I just moved to Charlotte NC should check our the rail line here.. my 3 yr old would love it

    Fun Day

  7. Great take on lines … RR lines are some of my favorite as well, not to mention a top favorite with my son. We have pictures from the Grand Canyon Railway this past January. If you visit my site, go to the album links – at the moment, it’s the only link (whoops) but the train was incredible.

Leave a Reply

