Notes on my trip home

Now that I’ve fully recovered, and my stomach has finally relaxed from all the AWESOME food I ate while I was away, I thought I’d fill you in on my trip.

The non-king retired last week after 35 years of working at the power plant.  I’m so proud of him.  He truly is a regal being (even if he can’t be king).  The Queen and family were having a retirement party for him today from 1-5, but due to other obligations (being a mom, picking up DS, etc) I was unable to attend.  So in a last minute decision, I left as soon as DS went to school Friday and got back early yesterday.  It was fun fun fun lemme tell you!

I called the queen as I was arriving in F’burg to tell her that I would be unable to attend the party.  I sounded very tearful on the phone, but not because I was sad, but because SHE sounded sad and I knew that in less than 5 minutes I would be walkin in her door!  We chatted for a minute, and I told her I’d let her go cuz I knew she was busy.  A few moments later, I walked in her garage door.  To say she was surprised would be an understatement!  The non-king was VERY happy and honored that I would come all that way just for him.  We had a wonderful afternoon, dinner at Longhorn followed by Wet nut sundae at my one of my favoritest places on the planet.

This following a huge dinner, and you literally had to roll me into bed.  Then I was up early yesterday morning, shot some photos and went to one of my OTHER favoritest places….

3 dozen jelly donut holes later (well, that’s what I bought!) I walked out with a HUGE grin and managed to make it all the way to my car before eating the first, followed quickly by several more.  There is no one I know, no bakery I’ve ever visited, that makes those holes like pauls.  We polished those off QUICK!  Stopped by the shop and picked up some much needed supplements and was on the road by early afternoon.

Even tho the trip was very short, it was amazingly refreshing and enlightening.  I was able to put a lot of bad juju to bed and get a fresh perspective on myself and on life in general.  It was a wonderful getaway that helped me to remember who I am and what’s important in life.

1 Comment

Filed under June Nablopomo

One response to “Notes on my trip home

  1. I love the new header! I’m going to have to show it to Aidan, he’s going to freak when he sees it.

Leave a Reply

