Heads or Tails – Mother

When I was young, mother collected plates. She hung them on the wall, like so many folks did back then. Our relationship was always very … odd… and one year, I was about 10 I guess, I saw a plate that I wanted her to have for mother’s day. I think even then I wanted her to see me in her world. To this day, some 30 years later, I remember the poem on that plate I got her.

Millions of Stars in the Heavens Above
Only one Mother to Cherish and Love
Thousands and thousands of flowers and trees,
Hundreds and hundreds of mountains and seas
Everything multiplied over and over
Robins and butterflies and bees in the clover

Many good friends to think the world of, but only one mother to cherish and love.

2 Comments

Filed under Heads or Tails

2 responses to “Heads or Tails – Mother

  1. Mothers sure do impact our lives. I hope she liked the plate..

  2. I’m glad to see you back! How have you been? I’ve been wondering about you and if everything was okay.

Leave a Reply

