Heads or Tails – 5 Senses

flip1.gif

This week our Theme is any or all of the 5 senses.  Since I seem to have very little COMMON sense lately (lol!) maybe I can tap into the inner senses for some inspiration!

My training is in Aromatherapy.  It’s something that I am truly passionate about.  Most people have the idea that aromatherapy is about scent only, but done properly, it encompasses all of our senses to bring about a true healing.

Let’s use Patchouli as an example.  The oil Patchouli, which some will relate to the hippie culture of the 60’s and 70’s with it’s earthy, rich, sometimes pungent aroma. It’s color is a deep reddish brown, thick and viscous.  When used in a diffuser, Patchouli’s scent is warm, comforting and mildly hypnotic.  It allows us to hear with our heart, the true nature of our emotions.  Patchouli is good for things that are cracked, both physically and emotionally.  Broken relationships, cracked, dry skin, etc.  Skin applications, when diluted, are physically and emotionally healing. 

Aromatherapy, when practiced properly, access all our human emotions and nearly all our physical senses to bring about a true physical, spiritual and emotional healing.

10 Comments

Filed under Heads or Tails

10 responses to “Heads or Tails – 5 Senses

  1. Our daughter is into aromatherapy too….and herbal healing.

    My HoT is posted. Drop by if you can, okay?

  2. I’m embarrassed to say that years and years ago I would pooh-pooh aromatherapy and now I am one of its biggest “users.” Lavender is my favorite for my personal use. I am still learning about other scents, and patchouli is one that I had wondered about. Sometimes I like it, sometimes it isn’t right.

  3. I’ve never tried aromatherapy, I wish somewhere around here did it. Maybe it could help me have a better attitude about living here in the boonies. Great choice for HoT!

  4. I am not so much aware about aromatherapy, but somehow I like the fresh smell of soap every morning 🙂

  5. Aromatherapy is pretty interesting, happy HoT 🙂

  6. I am very interested in Aromatherapy and really appreciate this post.

  7. I never knew aromatherapy encompassed so much! I may have to give it a try now that I know!

  8. Interesting and nice post. TC

  9. I need to get back into aromatherapy again. I often use lavender, but other favourites include geranium, ylang ylang and neroli. I quite like patchouli too. Happy Tuesday!

  10. Oh, I adore patchouli! Unfortunately, Poor Hubby dislikes it intensely…

Leave a Reply

