Heads or Tails – New

flip1.gif

I am SO GLAD that Heads or Tails is back. I have missed it!!!  This week’s theme is “old or new” so I’m opting for new, and talking a bit about my NEW website!

screenshot.jpg

This has been a decision I’ve been juggling with for a while now (heck, let’s be honest, since I lost my job) Being the positive (er…most of the time) person that I am, I tried to assume that losing my paying job meant it was time for me to jump in and do what I wanted to do…be a photographer. I thought it was the heavens pointing their finger at me saying “hey suz….get it???” Still, it’s a big leap to put yourself out there, and cast everything upon the water with hope that you will be successful in return.

If you’ve visited me at the new site, you may notice that I have a particular take on my style of photography. Yes, I could do weddings and studio stuff, but that’s not really me. I’m more of a fun, funky, true to life, kind of person, and wanted that to be reflected in what I did. The site itself is a work in progress, and I’m making changes constantly….who knows when I’ll (if I’ll) ever be totally happy with the way that it looks. However, what it says, to me at least, is infinitely more important.

I think that I am a very lucky person. I have a wonderful friends who loves me implicitly, although I wonder as to their sanity on that matter, and two beautiful healthy children. I have a home, food in our bellies,and a smile at least once a day. Although I have had hardship in my life, I think that I am still very blessed to be who I am. I realize that there are so many people out there who do not have these things. People who are struggling in poverty, with disease, with abuse. People who do not have the love of family or friends to lift them up and help them see that they are good, worthwhile, and loved.

I have lost so many people to illness, and have very few photographs of them. They were “I hate having my picture taken” people. Yet for me, I would love to have a good photograph. So, I thought (maybe I’m channeling my inner Danny Thomas) that if perhaps I was able to give back to the community, not only would it benefit the world in general, but my own well being would be enhanced.

I’ve already applied to be a charitable photographer for the think pink photography program, the national association of charitable photographers and the American child photographers charity guild. Hopefully I will be accepted by them.  This whole thing may simply be an effort wasted, but I’ll never know until I try, right?

It’s a new year, a new outlook, and hopefully some success in my new endeavor.

9 Comments

Filed under Heads or Tails

9 responses to “Heads or Tails – New

  1. elephantlady777

    I wish you much success in your “new” career choice! I’m off to check out the new site…

  2. Congratulations on the new move with that brandnew website of yours 🙂

    Great site with a wonderful portfolio. Keep up the good work.

    Good luck x millions!

  3. Starting over is always so scary and remembering some of your other HoT posts.. I know about the hardships you have overcome. What a courageous and strong woman you are.

    I think it’s wonderful that not only are you embarking on this new phase of your life for yourself & family, but that you are also wanting to give something back.

    Best wishes to you!

  4. Your new website looks good! 🙂

    Mine is up!

  5. I have the same dream as you! I wish you happiness and success. Someday, I will get the courage to do something with my photography too.

    Gotta go check out you website now…

  6. vixensden

    Best of luck to you. I love your outlook and mission statement. Your portfolio looks good. Yeah for being brave and putting yourself out there. Kudos for volunteering for charity photography also. Nice job!

    Happy Tuesday.

  7. What a perfect choice for this weeks heads or tails. Congratulations again and I wish you lots of success! You’re going to do great!!!

  8. Good luck with all your new endeavors!

  9. Good luck with the new venture – I hope it’s a roaring success.

    BTW, I’ve tagged you, but don’t worry about it if you’re too busy:

    http://sianikatts-gower.blogspot.com/2008/01/1.html

Leave a Reply

