End of November musings

I had a very unusual experience the other day, even unusual for me, which is REALLY saying something.  I’ll start with this.  I believe in signs.  In whatever form they take.  This, to me, can only be interpreted as a sign.  Ok.

So, I’m at the mall where I work (*side note:  for those who don’t “know me” in the biblical sense, you should know up front, I detest the mall.  It’s crowded, you are breathing other peoples icky air, it’s like a giant public toilet to me.  ugh  Not my favorite place. ) and this older lady walked up to me.  Now, I’m busy setting up, and she just starts talking to me.  Says that Santa is going to be good to me this year, that I deserve it.  I, at first, have NO clue who she is talking to, and look around. Its just the two of us, so I look over at her, and she continues talking.  Tells me about herself, briefly, about the fact that those in need, like me (???) deserve to be treated better..etc.  VERY odd.  Anyway, she concludes by saying that she’ll be back, and has something for me.  Ok says I, and I bid her goodbye.  Yesterday, she showed up again. She gave me a prayer, said to say it each day 15 times, starting today, and that I was praying for my desires for the holiday.  Then she left.  Since I know that I’m not the only one who has had a tough year, I thought maybe it wasn’t for me, but that I was to act as a vessel and share it with someone else, so I am. 

Christmas Anticipation Prayer
Beginning on St. Andrew the Apostle’s feast day, November 30, the following beautiful prayer is traditionally recited fifteen times a day until Christmas. This is a very meditative prayer that helps us increase our awareness of the real focus of Christmas and helps us prepare ourselves spiritually for His coming.

Hail and blessed be the hour and moment In which the Son of God was born Of the most pure Virgin Mary, at midnight, in Bethlehem, in the piercing cold. In that hour vouchsafe, I beseech Thee, O my God, to hear my prayer and grant my desires, [here mention your request] through the merits of Our Saviour Jesus Christ, and of His blessed Mother. Amen.

Will I say it?  Absolutely.  Should you?  That’s up to you.  I’m simply the vessel.

On another note, I had the MOST AMAZING photo session last night, but before you say “well, lemme see!!!”….I can’t.  It’s a Christmas gift for …someone….who cannot be mentioned here lest they view this.  I can’t even say WHOM I photographed.  grrr.  I can say this much.  I just love to photograph people who hate having their picture taken.  It’s always fun to watch them unwind a bit.  It was a funny session too.  They arrived at my home, where I was all set up.  Walked in, looked around and said “wow, it’s like a real photography studio in here…you have all the junk”.  I said “well, duh…did you think I was a hack or something?”  laugh laugh.  Dec 26 I’ll share some of the photos, which really came out awesome, if I do say so myself, which I did.  I’m working in some Low Key stuff right now, in black and white, and am really pleased with the results. 

I am also VERY excited about the fact that Mr. Jack Daniels and myself will be visiting one another this afternoon.  We haven’t seen each other in a while (I can’t justify THAT expense right now….but today I can.) It’s  FRIDAY! woohoo.  AND November 30.  Which is the last day of the month of November.  on a friday.  What does this mean to you, you ask?  Probably nothing.  What does it mean to me?  Well…..in our house we have a tradition.  If your Birthday falls on a weekend, or friday/monday, you get the entire weekend for your birthday.  Why?  Because xh’s b-day fell on labor day a LOT, and he got the day off.  Kids were like “why does HE get extra days, and not us….so I instituted the plan.  SOOOOOOO……since it’s friday, and monday is…well…..monday (he he) it’s my weekend!  And since Mr. Daniels is likely to be my only openable gift, I will celebrate well. (see why DD couldn’t put up a fight against family photo sunday?!? aha!)  My other gift, which actually is infinitely better, is that my JoJo is coming back from Atlanta (where he doesn’t belong) with his wife Lauren for the ENTIRE month of December. Jojo is the one who sat with me while I cried in his lap like a baby when I was fired.  Never made fun of me, helped me to see the light, and told me that this was an opportunity for me to do whatever I wanted.  He gave me the courage to see the future as expansive, instead of bleak.   He is a good man with a kind heart, and his wife is a beautiful, loving, kind woman.   Isn’t he handsome?!?

I’m very blessed to have friends like him. When we were all at the Railroad, there was a little group of us that hung out. Unfortunately Geoff moved off to CA and abandoned me (don’t be offended G, you did!) to make his life better, and then Jojo moved to GA. Sad Sad suzy. These guys were my rock, my solidarity. I swear they can walk on water when I’m not looking.   They are great listeners, always cut to the point, and made me feel like a princess. They treated me with respect, dignity, and NEVER EVER considered being  inappropriate. To them, I was just one of the guys, and I love them so much, miss them more, and wish we could all be together for my…monday. They’re in my heart tho…and know I’m in theirs. 🙂 

Lastly, I spoke with Santa yesterday…heart to heart.  I asked him to make my children’s Christmas wonderful, and asked him to leave a little something extra for all my blogging friends.  I told him that without YOU I wouldn’t have made it through these last few months with ANY sanity, and that you deserved a special gift.  When it arrives, consider it a thanks from me.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “End of November musings

  1. I definitely believe in signs and I think this prayer was meant for you. Thank you for sharing it. I’m going to print it out and use it also. ‘HAPPY BIRTHDAY weekend”!!!!!

  2. Have a wonderful Birthday weekend… and Monday!

Leave a Reply

