Heads or Tails – Road

  

200px-aroadsideattraction.jpg

One of my favorite books of all time is Another Roadside Attraction by Tom Robbins.  I first read this book in 1979 or 1980, and remember thinking, as I moved thru it, I was reading something that would change lives, alter the world, make a difference. 

I wanted to grow up to be Amanda, or not grow up and be Amanda, whichever serves better.  I wanted a flea circus, and a baboon.  I wanted to praise and glorify the hot dog.  There may have been drugs involved here.

Just a few weeks ago, while journeying to Jim Thorpe, I passed by an old roadside restaurant, tucked against the mountain, and was reminded of this book, and of those ideas I once had.  Naive, simple and Quixotic as they may have been, as I may have been, I felt a pull at that moment, to stop the car, call the agent, and move to this mountain town and start my own Roadside Attraction.  Maybe some dreams are never meant to die.

Additionally, I’ll leave you with my favorite quote (and one of my all time favorite rubber stamps):

Two Roads diverged in a wood, and I
took the one less traveled by.
And that has made all the difference.

9 Comments

Filed under Heads or Tails

9 responses to “Heads or Tails – Road

  1. I love your write up. Now I have to read that book!!

  2. I think it would be be an interesting choice.. growing up or not growing up. This sounds like a fascinating book. I’m off to Amazon!

  3. sounds like a really great book!! I love that poem/quote too. Have a wonderful Tuesday.

  4. I think I need to read this book now! Thanks for recommending it!

  5. Sounds like a wonderful book. Have a great Tuesday.

  6. I’ve always liked that quote too! 🙂

  7. Sounds like an interesting book. Happy Tuesday!

  8. I’m going to have to look up that book; it sounds important and interesting.

  9. Janey

    That poetry is a Robert Service quote, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

