Heads or Tails – V

It should come as no surprise what my Heads or Tails is this week…..with “V” as the topic!

Virginia

Virginia is the state where I spent most of my childhood, and the state that I STILL call home.  🙂

Virginia’s state bird is the Cardinal, the state flower the dogwood. 🙂 The state song USED to be Carry me back to Ole’ Virginny (but they dumped it cuz it was offensive)  In VA, we didn’t have Martin Luther King day (no, I’m not kidding) we had Lee-Jackson-King day.  It wasn’t until I moved to PA that I found it was called something else! 

Virginia was the 10th state to join the union (if you were interested) and the state motto is Sic Semper Tyrannis, which means Thus always to tyrants.  It is also what John Wilkes Booth shouted after shooting President Lincoln.   (anybody like seinfeld?!? LOL!)

There ya go….my very favorite “V”

10 Comments

Filed under Heads or Tails

10 responses to “Heads or Tails – V

  1. Love that! Vermont: the 14th state (but WE were an independent nation before we decided to join) and our motto: UNITED and FREEDOM!

    I hope more people tell us their states!

  2. I know one thing, I’m gonna be humming your state song now, all day!!!!

    My “V” is posted, I’d love to have you drop by for a visit if you can find time.

  3. I didn’t know you were from Virginia. I learned something new today, I can go back to bed now. LOL

  4. Virginia’s a beautiful state! I’ve traveled through it many times going from GA to NY; and I love it!!

  5. Virginia is BEAUTIFUL!! I used to go there as a child on vacation. Have a great Tuesday.

  6. I’m tagging you with a meme. Come by and check it out :o)

  7. My favorite thing about Virginia is Dave Matthews Band.
    Happy Tuesday! 🙂

  8. Great post! I like Virginia a lot, but I LOVE West Virginia too!

  9. Pingback: skymarks » Heads or Tails - V

  10. Pingback:   Heads or Tails - V by baseclubs

Leave a Reply

