Bottom of the 8th, Game 4

11:28 pm.  1 out, 4 to 1 Boston leading.  Okajima on the mound.  Pad of my right thumb is raw and swollen from chewing on it. Just opened the first beer of the night (I know, a shocker in and of itself) I’ve knitted a baby hat trying to keep myself from going insane, hat is done, thumb hurts so here we go. 

Helton at bat.  1 and 2 count.  Manny has changed into the white do rag.  Helton to right for base hit.  Atkins on deck.  One ball, one strike.  Crowd shot of rox fans with rally caps……ball outside count is 2-1.  I notice the rox are actually wearing jerseys with sleeves tonight….trying to change their luck?!? We need  a double play here….what….no NO NO NONONONONONONO……….Home run atkins….score 4-3 boston.  Okajima out…pap coming in.  I’ll leve out the expletives.  Commercial break…I think I’m going to throw up.

Of course the big news tonight is that A Rod has announced he’s not going to renew with the Yankees.  k. great.  moving on. We’re outta the inning.  Top of the 9th, Lowell at bat.  Let’s go mike…..strike 1…grrr…Lowell to left….out.  damn. We could use at least one run…just a bit of padding.  Ball 1 to Drew.  2-0 and drew grounds out.  2 outs.  Varitek at the plate…c’mon jason ….grrr. strike 2 varitek.  Varitek out….bottom of the 9th.  This is it folks.  I have advanced to seriously sick at my stomach.  This is too much stress to go thru  alone.  Can you drunk dial sober?  I could phone a friend…lol!  I can see it now.  Regis dials, and says “I’m here with suzy now, and she’s about to have a coronary.  Your question is, and you have 30 seconds, “are the Sox going to win tonight and sweep the series?  Time starts now…..”  It would be ugly.

Ok.  back to the game.  Strike 1 Torreal….c’mon pap.  Strike 2.  grounder to pedroia, 1 out.  2 more and it’s all over baby.  Carroll up ad Joe Buck announces that the clock is striking midnight in Boston.  0-1 count.  Carroll deep to left….OUT!  2 outs……bottom of the 9th (have I mentioned that?!?!?!?)  Strike 1 smith.  ball. ball 2. strike 2. 

WE WON!  WE WON WE WON WE WON WE WON WE WON WE WON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RED SOX SWEEP THE SERIES FOR THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP

CONGRATULATIONS GUYS!  YOU ROCKED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!  WE WON!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under baseball, Red Sox

Leave a Reply

