101 uses for white gravy

Ok…maybe not 101, but…..

So, I’m having an “I’m a little short on the grocery budget for this week” kinda week….so I’ve been scouring.  Let’s be honest, we’ve all had to scour a time or two.  And in scourin’ I got to thinkin about all the meals that can be made simply with white gravy.

The french are so much cooler, and call it bechamel sauce, and charge you a lot more per plate for it.  For me, white gravy has always been a staple in our home.  There were many times as a child when all we had was white gravy….and LOTS of times it was made with water, not milk.  We’ll not go there now.  ANYWAY…..Should you ever find yourself short on your grocery list, or short on patience (read….staaaaaarrrrrrvvvving children clinging to your ankles) Here are some of my staple “white gravy” fall backs.  Most will not include meat, since we eat it rarely, but if you have it, add it! Have fun, and add yours! Not sorted by “meal” cuz you never know!

1. Make white gravy (see VERY technical recipe below). Then Add:

Starchy things:
biscuits (which you should have made from scratch left in your freezer)
toast (if you didn’t make your biscuits)
grits
grits toasts
rice
Pasta (add some cheese and you got mac & cheese!)
Cornmeal mush (er…I mean…polenta!)
English muffins

AND/or:

Veggies:
Peas (ala creamed peas)
Carrots (creamed carrots)
Broccoli (add a touch of cheese)
Cauliflower (ditto)
Potatoes(boiled, baked or fried)
onions (ok, this is more of a side dish, but I love it)
Tomatoes (fried or baked)
corn

AND/OR

Protein: (1 cup or so…not much!)

Tuna
Chicken
Turkey (baked, sliced or ground)
Ground beef
cube steaks
stew beef (thin with a bit of milk or sour cream….mmmmmm)
bologna (fried, of course)
pork
sausage
dried beef
salmon (canned)
eggs (fried, baked, poached, hard boiled)

Top with:

Cracker crumbs
Cheese

Turns into:
Creamed tuna and peas and noodles
Creamed chicken with carrots and rice
Fried bologna with rice
Sausage gravy on ….insert starch here
pasta and white gravy with cheese and broccoli
Fried green tomatoes with grits
Grits toast with creamed gravy and broccoli
Pasta with creamed onions, cauliflower and carrots
Baked fish with creamed gravy (season with dill)
Fried cornmeal mush with creamed gravy and mixed vegetables
Poached eggs on muffins with cream gravy
Creamed gravy with turkey, pasta and mixed veggies

Ok….there’s 12 meals … yes MEALS (just off the top of my head!) made with nothin more than what you have on hand. Now….for that VERY technical white gravy recipe. Note, this is mothers, which was her mothers, which I have given just as I was taught.

Grease (usually bacon grease from the can on the stove, but you can use pan drippins, crisco or marg.)
Flour – relatively the same amount as the grease you have.
Milk or water (I’m a milk girl now, but water still works…it’s just not as pretty)

Put grease in pan unless it’s already there. Add flour and whisk until all the little particles are covered. THIS is the most important part.

Add milk or water….about a cup at a time. Whisk well to prevent clumping, lumping and various other grossness. Add more milk as needed to keep consistency. It’s all based on your flour/grease ratio. For about 2 T of grease/2T of flour, it’s about …I dunno….3 1/2 – 4 cups of milk?
Add salt and pepper to taste. Add additional spices as desired. I ALWAYS add just an ooch of cinnamon at the very end. I dunno why…I just do and now I can’t not.
Then add whatever. To thicken further, you can bake it for about 20 min at 350, or serve as is. It keeps in the fridge and can be added to if you need to.

Enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under budget shopping, Frugal, frugal families

6 responses to “101 uses for white gravy

  1. Nutmeg is also a good addition to white gravy, ehem, bechamel sauce. Pretty classic in France, I believe. I also like gravy made with chicken stock instead of milk or water. Guess that makes more of a brown gravy, though. 🙂 Good ideas, here. I had forgotten tha tmac and cheese was really that simple and required no blue boxes at all. I think I’ll make some like that for my DD’s first day of school tomorrow. 🙂

  2. It’s hard to come by knowledgeable people on this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  3. home theater equipment

    Hello there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  4. I get pleasure from, cause I found just what I used to
    be taking a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  5. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4
    year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  6. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like
    to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested
    in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

Leave a Reply

