Muffins of Apprehension

I am having some definite apprehension this morning.  I’ve put it off as long as I can, but today is the day (actually, a few hours from now) when I sign ds up for public school.  *knuckle cracking deep breath…..sighhhhhh

Now, at 10 years old, you may think this is an odd thing to be doing.  He HAS been attending school…yes.  A montessori charter school that was relatively easy to work with and accommodating to some degree.  But it is also almost an hour from our house (in morning traffic) and not necessarily a relaxing start to the day.  So….we, as a team, decided that since he would be going to public middle school next year anyway, it was a good time to get used to the system etc. and move to the local public elementary school.  Why the apprehension, you ask?  Because, I am a non-vaccinating mom.

Society in general looks down on us nv moms.  Somehow, people think that the reason I don’t vaccinate my kids is because I don’t care about them.  We all know that is just NOT true…I just made a conscious decision to protect their health in the way that I see fit.  Now, in VA that isn’t such a big deal.  They take your statement, and should there be an outbreak of say….measles….they send your child home.  (of course, WHY WOULD THERE BE AN OUTBREAK AMONG THE VACCINATED KIDS??????? DUH) But PA is a bit tougher on this front.  Yes, I can claim medical/religious/moral/ethical exemption, but then they want a full-fledged explanation all the while rolling their eyes as if to say “here’s another tree-hugging, batmobile driving lunatic…she must be converted.”  Trust me, my ethical reasons are far more compelling than any argument you can give me.  I’ve made my decision, and I stick by it.  Anyway, we tried the pub. school route when we first got here (when the ex was still around.  he doesn’t approve of my methods, even tried to sneak ds for vaccines!) and it was a cluster…er….event.  So…I’m not really looking forward to the challenge of the day.

So with all of this looming large in my morning…as usual…I kinda went into that “mode”. (hush up shari) Now when I get in this er…mode…I “do”.  Normally a human being, I become a human doing machine.  Need your transmission overhauled?  House painted?  Furniture moved?  Catch me in a mode.  And since this week (as many others for the last several months) I have TIME on my hands, the house is spotless and there is nothing major to be done.  I’ve done the wiping of the cabinets, the futzing about the bathroom and now I’m…..lost.  It’s 5am and I’m walking in circles trying to vent some energy.  Then it hits me.  I NEED MUFFINS!  Yes, I will bake.  Yes, Yes I’m certain that muffins will somehow right the wrongs of the world. Nevermind that it is pre 5am…muffins must be created. 

So silently, or so I think, I enter the kitchen.  Crap.  ds is sleeping in the family room.  Ah well, he can sleep thru anything.  Out come the ingredients..Where is that BIG metal mixing bowl….I do have enough eggs, right???  Yes.  Mix mix, stir stir, time to grate the carrots.  Where is the knucklebuster?  In the back.  It will make a lot of noise to dig it out, so I’ll use the food processor (do you see the mental state here?  Take 2 minutes to drag out a silent piece of equipment proven to work, or the electronic gizmo that sounds relatively like a cement mixer full of rocks.  5am logic)  Out it comes, in go the freshly grated and chopped carrots (thought being the smaller they are chopped, the less noise they will make.) GRIND.  good.  dump, new batch. GRIND……..”MOM”.  uh…yes…she turns to see dd standing looking rather annoyed at 5am.  “what the he// are you doing?”  “I’m making muffins for breakfast.  I’m nervous”.  “Do you realize it is 5am???”  “Well, yes, but I thought you would enjoy muffins.”  “AT 5AM?????”  “They’re pineapple carrot”.  “I hate pineapple carrot.  I hate muffins.  It’s 5am.  Stop.”  Away she goes. 

Muffins in the oven, cleaning up, trying to be quiet, feeling worse than ever.  Ah well…. It’s the thought that counts.

I’ll include the muffin recipe…it’s really good.  It’s also a nice thick batter, so when you drop the metal mixing bowl on the floor  and it spins haphazardly like a demented top at 5am because you are flustered and trying to be quiet it doesn’t spill out.  Nuff said.

We’ll call them  Apprehension Muffins!

Quick and easy, but not very quiet

3/4 C Sugar
1/2 C oil
2 eggs
1 t vanilla
1 3/4 C flour
2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 t cinnamon
1/4 t salt
1 C grated carrrots
1 c drained crushed pineapple

Stir together sugar and oil. Stir in eggs until combined. Add Vanilla.

In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients.  I usually just dump them in the sifter and swoosh them around that way. Stir until just combined. Add carrots and pineapple and stir to combine.  Bake in muffin cups at 375 for 20 min.

4 Comments

Filed under me, Recipes

4 responses to “Muffins of Apprehension

  1. Red

    Mm .. those sound yummy!

  2. Red

    Mm . .those sound yummy!

  3. That was a wonderful story. I really need a picture of you driving that batmobile, maybe cuddling up to a tree in the front seat. I don’t cook but I feel a compelling need to bake those muffins. And the next time you’re in a ‘mode’ let me know. I have a number of things at my place that could help you out…you sound like you’re running out of things at your place.

    Seriously though, I hope your son settles in well. I expect it’s going to be a big adjustment for him even without the threat of measles. My experience of public schools is that no matter how much vaccinating goes on, kids still catch things. My daughter has had all the standard immunisations but that didn’t stop her, or her friends, catching measles, chicken pox etc. And don’t get me started on the nits!

  4. Thanks….we’re hoping for the best. At the moment he’s thrilled because he’s “in a portable” (read trailer) and doesn’t realize tha when it gets cold…he’s not gonna be so thrilled to go outside and back in the main bldg. to use the bathroom. ah well.

    Running out of things? lol! Today’s projects included laundry, cleaning the stamping/scrapping table, and shooting flies with simple green. perhaps I need to get out more!

Leave a Reply

