Heads or Tails #2

hotl.gif 

Barb’s Heads or Tails theme this week is ‘LUCK‘.

Luck – noun

1. your overall circumstances or condition in life

2. an unknown and unpredictable phenomenon that causes an event to result one way rather than another

3. an unknown and unpredictable phenomenon that leads to a favorable outcome

For this week, I thought I would opt for #1.  My overall circumstances in life relating to “luck”

I have always looked at luck as “something that was bound to happen, that you just didn’t know about”.  Whether it’s Karma, God, predestined, whatever..if you’re not expecting it..That’s lucky, right?  If you don’t know it’s coming, it’s a “lucky break!” I think it’s all in how you look at it.   It’s funny that Barb chose this as the “flip side” from last week, cuz this past year has been an interestingly lucky year for me.  So…here’s my luck.

For the last 3 years I have happily (most of the time) worked for a local tourist railroad as the Passenger Services person.  My job was complex, stressful, unbelievably long hours, and I absolutely adored it. And by long hours….one weekend – saturday and sunday – I worked over 30 hours.    I never even considered leaving there.  And then one day, as luck would have it, a couple that owns a local business happened to come on a special event train that I was sponsoring.  We got to talking, and they offered me a job running their business.  I told them that there was no way I would ever leave my job.  They promised to make it worth my while.  I thanked them politely, and put it aside.  Later, I was recounting the story to SO and he said “go talk to them!”  No, said I, I can’t leave my job, I love my job.  Long story short, I left.  I went to the new “perfect for me” job.  Good luck, eh?

Yes, the holidays were wonderful.  Home by 6pm each night, no more 2am work nights back  at 5, it was lovely and my kids were thrilled.  No stressed mom.  Jump ahead to May, when I was unceremoniously fired from same said job with no warning. Not so good luck. My world was crushed.  I thought of these people as friends, family.  And I was fired for being “honest, hard-working and a good employee” (no, I’m not kidding).  3 days later, SO loses his job.

Losing my job…anyone losing their job..is a horrid and terrifying event.  I could have sat and been miserable and regaled all who would listen with songs of Poor Me.  Instead, I realized how LUCKY I really was.  I was away from some very dishonest people, I had the ability to spend some time with the kids, which I never have during the summer, I could apply for things that I really wanted to do and hopefully end up somewhere that makes me very happy. I gained a chance to be me for the first time in a very long time.  I’ve discovered who my friends really are.   I’ve had the opportunity to expand my level of photography, work on my web design stuff, and take the time to read over stuff I’ve written over the years and realize that I am a good person, and I won’t allow people who are blinded by their own selfishness and ignorance to bring me down to their level.  Is it luck?  A gift from God?  Are they the same thing?  Does it matter?  Not to me.

7 Comments

Filed under Heads or Tails, meme

7 responses to “Heads or Tails #2

  1. what a thought provoking post! I am so glad that you have been lucky this year.

  2. Wow. It’s wonderful that you have taken such a negative experience and turned it into something positive. I enjoyed reading your post. Mine is also up. Check it out!

  3. It sounds to me like you make your own luck. Well, except with that part about getting fired. But STILL! If you hadn’t taken the job and then gotten fired, then you wouldn’t be out looking for the perfect job…?

  4. Hey, I talked about work too! 🙂

  5. Good Luck finding a job with people you like!

  6. Great post, luck by whatever named, dropped opportunity in your lap, but you are the one who are taking luck and making it into more. Made me smile.

  7. JR

    Very touching post.

    Yes, Luck is funny.

    You have to work like you don’t expect it.
    And recognize it when you find it.

Leave a Reply

