Heads or Tails Meme

Barb, over at Skittle’s Place has started up a brand new meme called Heads Or Tails Tuesdays. What a great idea!  I’ll play.  Barb will post a theme for the week and on Tuesday participants can write a story, post a poem or photo.. anything to show how they interpret the theme.

This weeks theme is Beginnings. 

Probably my most memorable Beginning was moving to PA.  As a born and bred Southern Girl, it really never occured to me that it was a “lifestyle”.  It was just where I was from.  I never really took much notice until a gentleman I met at a conference one time (Mr. Keith Sudano, amazing hypnotherapist and all around nice guy) mentioned something about being from the south.  Well, yes I was, I countered…and?  It was an interesting conversation, to say the very least, and enlightening to me as to what people “thought” I was.

When I moved to PA, (not of my own volition, mind u) …only THEN did it hit me!  What a lifestyle change.  I’d never seen myself as a “how y’all doin” kinda girl, but I guess I am.  Not only was I challenged with not knowing where anything was, but I found myself utterly alone…it was like moving to another country.  Not only was it a new beginning in discovering my new “world”, but discovering myself, and what I thought was important to me.  It meant starting over from scratch, in every sense of the word.  It was depressing, frightening, enlightening, infuriating, but beneficial.  Had I stayed in my “home”, I would never have found the real me, the strong me, the “go getter” me.  I found out that I am funny, that I can make friends, that I CAN succeed on my own, be a mom and a businesswoman, bring home the bacon AND fry it up in the pan.  I Began a new job, found a “better one” and began it, and now am beginning a new path…once again finding myself, and finding out who I want to be.

Beginnings are usually scary, but I’ve found that they also bring us around to where we ultimately need to be…happy with ourselves.

4 Comments

Filed under meme

4 responses to “Heads or Tails Meme

  1. I know what you are saying here as I was born and raised in Florida, then moved to Michigan when I was 21. What a shock!

    Things is the south are so much more laid back. Up here it seemed like everyone was working to get ready for WINTER! LOL. 🙂

    They don’t know how to make chicken & dumplings right either. Or eat okra.. or boiled peanuts.

    I’m glad you were able to find yourself!!!

  2. It is amazing how different parts of the country are so different. I am an east coast girl living in the west coast right now–culture shock!! I’m actually from PA 🙂 What a wonderful post.

  3. We moved from Florida to Washington state, but the change did not seem as much of a shock as yours, maybe because there are so many Northerners in Florida. People are, on the whole, a lot nicer out here.
    Moving can be a new beginning, we are so much more relaxed, almost like we are different people.

  4. Great job on the Beginnings Meme! It’s funny how we don’t really know what we are capable of until we do it.

Leave a Reply

